Board of Trustees


Alan Levine, Esq.

Trustee since 1998
Senior counsel and former head of the international law firm of Cooley LLP 

Vice Chairs 

Daniel J. Beller, Esq.

Trustee since 2006
Of Counsel at the law firm of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

Mimi Alperin

Trustee since 2011
Former chair of the Board of Governors of the American Jewish Committee 

Jonathan M. Lopatin

Trustee since 2010; MA ’09 in Talmud and Rabbinics, Gershon Kekst Graduate School at JTS
Former partner and managing director of Goldman Sachs; founder of Not-So-Simple Productions, a documentary film company that focuses on Jewish educational films  


Eric Rosen  

Treasurer; trustee since 2009
Founder and managing partner of Hudson Hill Capital LP; board member of New Alternatives for Children; trustee of the Stanford Graduate School of Business Trust.       

Board Members 

Yale Asbell

Trustee since 2004
Former president of Yale Asbell PC; nationally recognized authority in the field of community bank stock investments                   

Talya Bock

Trustee since 2019; LC ’06, DS ‘07
Wealth management advisor and portfolio manager at Merrill Lynch in Washington, DC; President of the Hadar Board

Alan Budman

Trustee since 2023
International President, Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs

Abby Joseph Cohen

Trustee since 2004; chair emerita; board chair from 2009 to 2015
Senior investment strategist and president of the Global Markets Institute at Goldman Sachs

Robbie Cohen-Millstein

Trustee since 2022; Principal Broker of The Millstein Group LLC.

Lester Crown

Trustee since 1991
Chairman of Henry Crown and Company of Chicago; chairman of the Chicago Council on Global Affairs; past chairman of the Civic Committee of The Commercial Club of Chicago 

Joanna Dulkin Hazzan

Trustee since 2023
President of the Cantors Assembly and Hazzan of Adath Jeshurun Congregation in Minnetonka, MN

Deborah Sosland-Edelman

Trustee since 2019
Executive Director of the Sosland Foundation

Jeffrey Feig

Trustee since 2016
Member of the Board of the Manhattan JCC and The Jewish Week; Chair, Board of Directors of the Marlene Meyerson JCC

Matt Furman

Trustee since 2019
General Counsel at Willis Towers Watson

Hillary Gardenswartz

Trustee since 2021
Director of Student Experiences, Civic Spirit, and Created Equal Educators Fellowship of the Shalom Hartman Institute of North America

Marc Gary

Trustee, 2005–2012; 2015–present
Former executive vice chancellor and chief operating officer, JTS; previously executive vice president and general counsel of Fidelity Investments and Bellsouth Corporation   

Rachel Gildiner

Trustee since 2024
Chief Engagement Officer, Hillel International

Ned Gladstein

Trustee since 2006; president of United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism
President of Sunrise ShopRite, Inc.; executive officer and director of Wakefern Food Corporation

Ruth Hendel

Trustee since 2013
Theater producer; board member of Play Company, LAByrinth Theater Company, Yale School of Drama, and Eugene O’Neill Theater Center (vice chair) 

Robert Immerman

Trustee since 2016
Founder and CEO of InterDesign, Inc.

Jay Kasner, Esq.

Trustee since 2014
Partner and head of securities litigation practice at the law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP  

Gershon Kekst (z”l)

Board chair emeritus (1991 to 2009)
Founder and longtime president of Kekst and Company Inc., a corporate and financial communications firm 

Alan Klein

Trustee since 2019
Partner, co-head of Mergers and Acquisitions Practice, and a member of the Executive Committee at Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Lynette Koppel

Trustee since 2015
Board member of the Institute of Southern Jewish Life, member of UJA’s Women’s Executive Circle 

Rabbi Jay Kornsgold

Trustee since 2024
President of the Rabbinical Assembly

Alan Leifer

Trustee since 2014
President of Leifer Family Fund, LLC 

Molly Levinson

Trustee since 2022; CEO and Founder of The Levinson Group

Julia Loeb

Trustee since 2023
President of Women’s League for Conservative Judaism  

Barry Lovell

Trustee since 2023
President, Lovell Safety Management Co. LLC

Sharon Nelles

Trustee since 2019
Managing partner of Sullivan & Cromwell LLP’s Litigation Group and member of the firm’s Management Committee                       

Jan Popkin

Trustee since 2024
Founder, Popkin Software

Robert Pruzan         

Trustee since 2008; president of The Jewish Museum
Cofounder of the investment bank Centerview Partners      

Robert S. Rifkind, Esq.

Trustee since 1983
Senior counsel at the law firm of Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP in New York      

Saul Sanders

Trustee since 2002
CEO of Shellpoint Mortgage 

Andy Schaer

Trustee since 2023
International President, United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism

Shuly Rubin Schwartz

Chancellor; trustee since 2020
Eighth chancellor of The Jewish Theological Seminary 

Liz Sembler

Trustee since 2024
Retired Jewish educator and active community leader in Tampa-St. Petersburg, Florida

Deborah Shapira

Trustee since 2021
Certified facilitator and educator

Chairs of the Advisory Boards 

Henry Glanternik

William Davidson Graduate School of Jewish Education Advisory Board
CEO of TMC Properties, LLC

Liz Sembler

William Davidson Graduate School of Jewish Education Advisory Board
Retired Jewish educator and active community leader in Tampa-St. Petersburg, Florida

Joe Rubin

The Library Advisory Board
Founder and Principal, Pine Ledge Real Estate Advisors; Trustee of the Jewish Association of Services to the Aging

Barry Lovell

The Religious Leadership Advisory Board
President, Lovell Safety Management Co. LLC 

Pat Fingeroth

Center for Pastoral Education Advisory Board
Retired from teaching, educational media, publishing, and advertising sales

Honorary Members

Stephen M. Axinn, Esq.

Trustee, 1991–2007
Founder and senior partner of the law firm of Axinn, Veltrop & Harkrider, LLP 

Joseph Ciechanover

Trustee, 1996–2006
Founder, consultant, president, and member of the Investment Committee at The Challenge Fund-Etgar LP; former chair of El Al Israel Airlines 

David H. Feinberg

Trustee, 1991–2010
Feinberg Properties, LLC; former trustee of Trinity School and trustee emeritus of the Center for Jewish Life at Princeton University  

Ronald Lauder

Trustee, 1995–2005
Businessman, art collector, philanthropist, and political activist; president of the World Jewish Congress; honorary trustee of the World Monuments Fund; established the Ronald S. Lauder Foundation 

Harvey L. Miller

Trustee, 1999–2008; spirit behind H. L. Miller Cantorial School and College of Jewish Music
Cofounder with his two brothers of the Quill Corporation, an office-supply business now part of Staples 

Gerald Rosenfeld

Trustee, 1992–2011
Advisor to the CEO and vice chairman of investment banking at Lazard Ltd 

H. Axel Schupf

Trustee, 1991–1997
Founder of H. A. Schupf & Co; trustee and chair emeritus of The Jewish Museum