Jewish Languages

The Jewish Theological Seminary offers a wide array of languages needed for the study of classical Jewish texts and for engaging in dialogue with contemporary Jewish communities throughout the world. Every year JTS offers at least eight levels of Hebrew language study. Depending on the program needs in any given year, additional languages offered can include Akkadian, Aramaic, Judeo-Arabic, Ladino, Syriac, Ugaritic, Yiddish, and languages for inscriptional literature.