Committee on Sexuality and Gender at JTS

The Jewish Theological Seminary is actively committed to ensuring that its community is safe and respectful of people of all different gender identities and sexual orientations. The Committee on Sexuality and Gender at JTS is a standing committee that generates and coordinates programming for students, faculty, and staff; reviews institutional policies and procedures; receives ongoing feedback about sexuality and gender issues in academic courses, programming, and all aspects of JTS life and work; and innovates ongoing quality improvement projects. Members of the committee are available to hear concerns of the JTS community and to direct people to the appropriate channels for addressing related issues.

Members of the Committee on Sexuality and Gender at JTS are:

Marc Gary, Executive Vice Chancellor and COO

Dr. Alan Cooper, Provost

Rabbi Mychal Springer, Director, Center for Pastoral Education, committee chair

Rabbi Daniel Nevins, Dean, Division of Religious Leadership

Dr. Stefanie Siegmund, Chair, Jewish Gender and Women's Studies

Sara Horowitz, Dean, Student Life

Dr. David Davar, Director, The Counseling Center

Rabbi Stephanie Ruskay, Associate Dean, The Rabbinical School

Dana Hartman, Office of Development

JTS Student Representatives