Convocation to Honor Rabbis for Dedicated Service

Press Contact: Nina Jacobson
Office: (212) 678-8950

December 10, 2007, New York, NY

Honorary doctorates are scheduled to be awarded to forty-seven rabbis who have served the Jewish community with distinction for a quarter century or more at The Jewish Theological Seminary's Convocation honoring members of the Rabbinical Assembly.

The celebration will take place at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, December 13 at JTS in New York City. Professor Arnold M. Eisen, Chancellor of JTS, will confer the degrees and deliver the keynote address. Rabbi Daniel Nevins, Pearl Resnick Dean of The Rabbinical School, and Randie Malinsky, a member of the Advisory Board of The Rabbinical School, will serve as sponsors of the honorary degree candidates. Rabbi Steven Lindemann, spiritual leader of Temple Beth Sholom in Cherry Hill, New Jersey, and a recipient of an honorary doctorate, will offer remarks on behalf of the honorees. A reception will follow.

Those honored included congregational rabbis, Jewish communal professionals, educators, and chaplains from the United States, Canada, and Australia.

Editors/Reporters: To schedule interviews with the honorees or for more information on JTS, please contact Sherry S. Kirschenbaum in the Department of Communications at (212) 678-8953.