Convocation Honors Rabbis for Dedicated Service

Press Contact: Eve Glasberg
Office: (212) 678-8089

November 2, 2011, New York, NY

Honorary doctorates were awarded to 41 rabbis—all members of the Rabbinical Assembly who have served the Jewish community with distinction for 25 years or more—by The Jewish Theological Seminary (JTS) at a convocation on Tuesday, November 1. Through the degrees, JTS celebrated the achievements of these spiritual leaders and voiced appreciation for their manifold contributions to Jewish life.

The ceremony took place at the JTS campus in New York City. Professor Arnold M. Eisen, chancellor of JTS, conferred the degrees and delivered the convocation address. Dr. Alan Cooper, provost of JTS, presided. Rabbi Daniel S. Nevins, dean of the Division of Religious Leadership and Pearl Resnick Dean of The Rabbinical School, and Randie Malinsky, chair of the Religious Leadership Advisory Board of JTS, sponsored the honorees. Rabbi Gilah Dror, president of the Rabbinical Assembly, delivered greetings on behalf of the RA, and honoree Rabbi Irwin Kula, president of Clal–The National Jewish Center for Learning and Leadership, led the Minhah service. Honoree Rabbi Jack Moline, the spiritual leader of Agudas Achim Congregation in Alexandria, Virginia, made the remarks on behalf of those being honored. The rabbis honored included congregational rabbis, Jewish communal professionals, educators, and chaplains from across the United States as well as Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Israel, and Peru.

The 2011 honorees are:

Rabbi Raphael Charles Adler
Rabbi Morris J. Allen
Rabbi Samuel Barth
Rabbi Guillermo Luis Bronstein
Rabbi Howard R. Buechler
Rabbi Jonathan M. Case
Rabbi Mark Steven Cooper
Rabbi Amy Eilberg
Rabbi David Mark Eligberg
Rabbi Dario Feiguin
Rabbi Alejandro Felch
Rabbi Marc Boone Fitzerman
Rabbi Ernesto Daniel Goldman
Rabbi Jay R. Goldstein
Rabbi Leonard Gordon
Rabbi Reuven S. Greenvald
Rabbi Abraham Baruch Joseph Havivi
Rabbi Hayim Yehuda Herring
Rabbi Steven C. Kane
Rabbi Paul David Kerbel
Rabbi Irwin Kula
Rabbi Eric M. Lankin
Rabbi Aaron Leonard Mackler
Rabbi Noam Eldad Marans
Rabbi Howard M. Markose
Rabbi Jack Louis Moline
Rabbi David F. Nesenoff
Rabbi Pinchas N. Pearl
Rabbi Baruj Plavnick
Rabbi Michael Lewis Rascoe
Rabbi Marvin Richardson
Rabbi Scott M. Rosenberg
Rabbi Efraim Rosenzweig
Rabbi Jaime Enrique Rosenzweig
Rabbi Jacob Rosner
Rabbi Michael J. Schorin
Rabbi Laurence A. Sebert
Rabbi Rick Sherwin
Rabbi Armando Skorka
Rabbi Stefan J. Weinberg
Rabbi Felipe Carlos Yafe

Visit JTS at