Search Committee Formed for Rabbinical School Dean

Press Contact: Nina Jacobson
Office: (212) 678-8950

September 21, 2006, New York, NY

Arnold M. Eisen, Chancellor–elect of The Jewish Theological Seminary, has appointed Professors Raymond Scheindlin and Jack Wertheimer as Co–Chairs of The Rabbinical School Dean Search Committee at JTS.

The committee includes JTS Professors Beth Berkowitz and Eliezer Diamond; Rabbinical Assembly representatives Rabbis Paula Mack Drill and Michael Siegel; Ned Gladstein, the immediate past chairman of The Rabbinical School's Advisory Board; and Micah Peltz, a fifth–year rabbinical school student.

Candidates should have a clear vision for the Conservative rabbinate, will serve as a religious mentor and exemplar to rabbinical students, will maintain religious and academic standards, and will have the leadership qualities to shape the next generation of Conservative rabbis. The dean must be a rabbi with a personal commitment to Torah study, religious observance, the academic study of Judaism, and Conservative Judaism. He or she will have administrative experience and the capacity to manage a team of assistant deans. The dean must also be prepared to work within the structure of an academic institution of which The Rabbinical School is one of five schools.

Applicants should send a CV and a brief statement (not longer than 1,500 words) of his/her vision for The Rabbinical School and its dean to: Professors Raymond Scheindlin and Jack Wertheimer, or to Roberta Feinsmith, Office of the Provost, JTS, 3080 Broadway, New York, New York 10027. Applications must be submitted no later than October 17, 2006.

Founded in 1886 as a rabbinical school, The Jewish Theological Seminary today is the academic and spiritual center of Conservative Judaism worldwide, encompassing a world–class library and five schools. JTS trains tomorrow's religious, educational, academic and lay leaders for the Jewish community and beyond.

Visit the JTS website at