General Information About JTS's Annual Lectures

  • The Gerson D. Cohen Memorial Lecture was established in 1993 by the Honorable Howard M. Holtzmann, honorary chairman of the JTS Board of Trustees, as a tribute to the late Gerson D. Cohen, who served as chancellor of JTS from 1972 to 1986.
  • The Abraham and Minnie Kay Memorial Lecture, which is held at Adas Israel Congregation in Washington DC, was endowed by Jack and Barbara Kay, and Harold and Sylvia Greenberg, in memory of their (Jack and Sylvia's) parents, Abraham and Minnie Kay, who were longtime Jewish communal leaders and supporters of JTS.
  • The annual Henry N. and Selma S. Rapaport Memorial Lecture was originally established in 1982 by Selma S. Rapaport (1916–2010), who served as president of the Women's League for Conservative Judaism and as a longtime JTS board member, in memory of her late husband. A distinguished attorney and committed Jew, Mr. Rapaport (1905–1980) served as president of Temple Israel Center in White Plains, New York, and as president of the United Synagogue. He was an active member of the JTS board, and a generous benefactor of JTS's scholarly programs.
  • The Jack and Lewis Rudin Lectures (Fall and Spring) provide the opportunity for eminent academics, religious leaders, intellectuals, and public figures to discuss topics of interest with the JTS community and the public at large.
  • The Bernard G. Segal Memorial Lecture in Law and Ethics was established by JTS in honor of the late philanthropist and community leader. Mr. Segal was the first Jewish president of the American Bar Association and the first Jewish chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association.

Information About Upcoming Public Lectures and Conferences