Vouchers, Charters, Choice: A Conversation About Education Policy

Tuesday, March 15, 2005
7:00 p.m.
The Jewish Theological Seminary

This forum will focus on a current trend in education reform, school choice. The Supreme Court held in its landmark 2002 decision, Zelman v. Simmons-Harris, that publicly funded tuition vouchers may be used at private, including religious, schools. This has profound implications for the public-school and religious-school systems. Two leading experts will assess the issues, research, and consequences of school choice.

How does increasing educational choice affect academic achievement for students who choose?

How does increasing educational choice affect the academic achievement of students who remain in traditional public schools?

How does increasing educational choice affect racial and class integration, the teaching of tolerance and other democratic values, and conveying the value of volunteering, voting, and participating in civic life?


Dr. Jay P. Greene—Senior Fellow, Education Research Office, Manhattan Institute

Dr. Jay Greene is a senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute's Education Research Office. His research was cited four times in the Supreme Court's opinions in Zelman v. Simmons-Harris. He has conducted evaluations of school choice and accountability programs in Florida, Charlotte, Milwaukee, Cleveland, and San Antonio, and his research on high-school graduation rates, charter schools, and special education was recently published. He received his PhD in Government from Harvard.

Professor Henry M. Levin—Professor of Economics and Education, Teachers College, Columbia University

Professor Henry Levin is the William Heard Kilpatrick Professor of Economics and Education at Teachers College, Columbia University, and director of the nonpartisan National Center for the Study of Privatization in Education. A specialist in the economics of education and human resources, he has written extensively on these and related subjects. In 1991, the New York Times named him one of nine national leaders for "Innovation in Education."

Read the event transcript